Don’t

Requisite preface: This is in no way me telling you, or anyone else, what to do. Take it as suggestions, or leave it.

When I ask you, don’t be afraid. Don’t be afraid to tell me what you’re thinking, what you’re feeling, what you want. Fear holds us back. And you can be tempted by fear to think that you’re going to lose by being open and honest to others. And what you lose by giving in to fear and keeping whatever it is inside and unsaid could be so much more than what you fear.

Those thoughts, feelings and desires that you are tempted to keep in…I won’t be so arrogant as to believe that I’ve felt them all, but I will say that I have felt a lot on the spectrum of human emotion. And thought more about all those feelings than I believe is average. I also believe that I am quite understanding. I’ve fought diligently to understand my feelings, my thoughts and my desires. To understand why, how and to what extent I have them all.

So I encourage you to not be tempted by your fear. To give in to what many would have you convinced is weakness.

I will admit that I may tease, chuckle or smile. But I will be the last to ridicule, laugh at or condemn you for opening your mind and your heart to me. I know how difficult it is. I also know how it feels to be reviled for it.

What I do not guarantee, however, to not have my own feelings about what you say. But that is not your concern. And I do not want that to be a factor.

Leave a Reply

